ECRRF_100x62.pngHelp support the entire Evanston community in this time of need. DONATE NOW to the Evanston Community Rapid Response Fund to strengthen or rescue local nonprofits threatened by the COVID-19 crisis. Your contribution will be doubled dollar for dollar during our $1,000,000 Challenge Grant period!

leadership evanston graduates 26th class

June 8, 2018 | ECF Press Release

The 26th cohort of engaged citizens graduated from the Signature Leadership Program on Thursday, June 7, 2018 at a recognition ceremony and celebration.

In 1992, ECF started its Leadership Evanston program to provide Evanston with skilled and knowledgeable individuals who take responsibility for the community and its future. LE has trained more than 720 leaders, 80% of whom still live or work in Evanston.

cohort a collective voice for advocacy

Leadership Evanston Director Jennifer G. Moran said, “As a cohort, Leadership Evanston XXVI found a collective voice for advocacy. Our work in Leadership Evanston encouraged active listening by the participants and resulted in five project teams highlighting the challenges for Evanston’s youth. After 26 years, Leadership Evanston continues to respond to the ever-changing landscape of our community.”


Leadership Evanston XXVI graduates include: Susan Marshall Abraham, community volunteer; Kelli-Ann Alcott, Youth & Opportunity United, Inc.; Carole Christensen Bass, community volunteer; Ashley Brandt, Goldstein & McClintock LLLP; Karli Butler, Curt's Café; Teri Campbell, Evanston Public Library; Savannah Clement, City of Evanston; Lori Coombs, Evanston Township High School; Brandi Crawford, Youth Job Center; Linda Del Bosque, Evanston Woman Magazine; Jean Fies, community volunteer; Ellen Frolichstein, Institute for the Therapy Through the Arts; Steven Frost, Evanston/Skokie School District 65; David Graham, Sidley Austin LLP; Chantell Johnson, MacArthur Foundation; Natalie Joy, Evanston Work Ethic Program; Laurie McCall Kaplan, Evanston Work Ethic Program; Lisa Levin, McGaw YMCA; Lesly Levitas, community volunteer; Murphy Monroe, The Actors Gymnasium; Mireya Morales, Rotary International; Michael Moran, Anonymous Architects; Joi-Anissa Russell, The James B. Moran Center for Youth Advocacy; David Servillo, Gene Servillo Consulting; Rebecca Slenk, McGaw YMCA Children's Center; Rosa Ines Sriver, Chicago Public Schools; David Stone, Northwestern University; and Bryant Wallace, Chessmen Club of The North Shore.

Class members presented five team projects this year covering a range of topics including opportunities for youth, the connections between philanthropy and public funding, restorative justice practices, storytelling and reconciliation, and an investigation of how to be a trauma informed community.

Today’s participants gain a deep and broad knowledge of Evanston’s diverse perspectives, institutions, and communities; examine and practice key community leadership skills; and build a network to work together toward a just, vibrant, and inclusive community.

apply for 2018-2019

Applications are being accepted for the 27th class of Leadership Evanston now through mid-August. Individuals who live or work in Evanston are encouraged to participate. The program seeks to include people from all neighborhoods, interests, and sectors. Payment plans and scholarships are available. For more information, contact Jennifer Moran, Leadership Evanston director.

about the foundation

Founded in 1986, the Evanston Community Foundation helps Evanston thrive now and forever as a just, vibrant and inclusive community. It builds, connects, and distributes resources and knowledge to Evanston – not just one group, neighborhood or issue – all of Evanston. ECF stands ready to be a thought partner, a collaborator, an investor, a facilitator, and most of all a convener to grow impact. Follow us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.