-For Immediate Release-

Evanston, IL Selected as Finalist for RWJF Culture of Health Prize  

 Community Improvement Efforts Contribute to Progress in National Selection Process 

 Evanston, IL (August 3, 2023) – Evanston, IL was chosen as a finalist for the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation (RWJF) Culture of Health Prize. As a 2023 finalist, Evanston, IL is one step closer to the national Prize, which celebrate communities at the forefront of advancing a fair and just opportunity for health by collaborating to build positive solutions to barriers that have created unequal opportunities for health and wellbeing. 

Evanston joins 13 other finalist communities from across the country. Winners will be announced this fall. 

“We are pleased to advance as a RWJF Culture of Health Prize finalist community. Evanston is dedicated to cultivating a community rooted in fairness and justice, and to do so in partnership with all stakeholders across boundaries. Together, the Evanston Community Foundation, Northwestern University, the City of Evanston, Districts 65 and 202, and other institutions have the capability to do genuinely transformative things,” said Mayor Biss of Evanston. “We credit our advancement to Prize finalist to Evanston’s unwavering commitment to combating barriers that cast shadows upon health and well-being,” said Mayor Biss. 

The other 2023 finalists include: 


· Adams County, CO 


· Austin, TX 


· Baltimore, MD 


· Dayton, OH 


· Detroit, MI 


· Fond du Lac Band of Lake Superior Chippewa, Reservation 


· Houston - Acres Homes, Sunnyside, Kashmere & Trinity Gardens, TX 


· King County Community Partnerships Network, WA 


· Los Angeles County, CA 


· North Nashville, TN 


· Tacoma, WA 


· Ramsey County, MN 


· Zuni Pueblo 


“The community leaders and organizations being considered for the RWJF Culture of Health Prize demonstrate the power of collaboration in ensuring everyone in America has what they need to live their healthiest lives possible,” said Richard Besser, MD, RWJF president and CEO. “We look forward to engaging with each finalist community being considered for the Prize to learn more about how they are making lasting transformations for all to thrive.” 

To get to this stage in the process, communities had to showcase the breadth of work and collaboration happening across organizations to improve health and wellbeing for residents. To become a finalist, Evanston had to demonstrate how its efforts reflect the six Prize criteria: 


· Addressing structural racism and other structural injustices in order to create conditions that advance health equity. 


· Committing to sustainable policy, systems, environmental and cultural changes. 


· Working alongside partners across sectors, and elevating the expertise and solutions held by people with firsthand experiences of health inequities. 


· Engaging in cultural work that envisions and advances a more just future. 


· Making the most of available community resources and fostering sustainability. 


· Measuring and sharing qualitative and quantitative indicators of progress in culturally relevant ways. 

If selected as a Prize winner, Evanston will be given a $250,000 prize and a national platform to share its story and lessons learned with the country. The community will join a network of other national and community change leaders, including past Prize-winning communities. 

To learn about the work of the 50 previous Prize winners, visit www.rwjf.org/prize. 




Contact: Akilah Wilson | wilson(at)evanstonforever.org | 847-241-4826 ext. 1014 





August 3, 2023